Credit for Prior Learning

Get credit for what you already know.

Ivy Tech Community College offers Prior Learning Assessment (PLA) for students with select qualifications and expertise. Ivy Tech evaluates your credentials to see how much credit you are qualified to receive. When you earn credit through PLA, you may save a significant amount of money and complete your degree more quickly.

Work experience, military service, technical training service in AmeriCorps or the Peace Corps are all examples of ways you may have developed the experience and knowledge needed to earn PLA credit. The exact credit awarded is determined using one of three methods:

Certification Crosswalk
Ivy Tech acknowledges certification credentials by providing a "certification crosswalk." This means that certifications may also qualify for college credit.

Credit by Examination
Programs like the College-Level Examination Program (CLEP) and the DANTES Subject Standardized Test (DSST) give you the chance to prove your proficiency in general education areas like introductory math, writing, business, and science. These exams are available for just a fraction of the cost of a college course, and if you're in the military, you may be able to take the exam for free.

PLA Portfolio
A PLA Portfolio is a detailed documentation illustrating what you have been taught and how successfully you completed the work. The required documentation varies from course to courses, but may include samples of your work, an essay explaining your experience and knowledge, or certificates showing successful completion of workshops or seminars.

When you pursue PLA Portfolio Credit, Ivy Tech will assist you throughout the process. Faculty and staff members will help you determine which courses are the best fit for your skills and will help you develop your portfolio. The portfolio will then be reviewed to determine what credit you can be awarded.

For more information about any of these Credit for Prior Learning options, please click on your region below:

Bloomington
Marjie Bea Risen
Associate Professor/Department Chair
mrisen@ivytech.edu
812-330-6109
Central Indiana (Franklin, Greencastle, Indianapolis, Noblesville)
Rhonda Angsman
Director Academic Support Services
rangsman@ivytech.edu
317-921-4479
Columbus
Corrie McGuckin
Registrar
cmcguckin@ivytech.edu
812-374-5173
East Central (Anderson, Marion, Muncie, New Castle)
Joyce Wilkerson
Dean/Associate Professor
jwilkers@ivytech.edu
765-289-2291 ext. 1337
Kokomo (Kokomo, Logansport, Wabash)
Ethen Heicher
Assistant Vice Chancellor Academic Affairs
eheicher@ivytech.edu
(765) 459-0561 ext. 320
Lafayette (Crawfordsville, Lafayette)
Russell Nelson
Interim Registrar
rnelson@ivytech.edu
765-269-5114

North Central (Elkhart, South Bend, Warsaw)
Randy Maxson
Executive Director, Institutional Effectiveness
rmaxson@ivytech.edu
574-289-7001 ext. 6854
Northeast (Fort Wayne)
Claudia Alexander
Assistant Director of Admissions
calexand@ivytech.edu
260-480-4229

Northwest (East Chicago, Gary, Michigan City, Valparaiso)
Natalie Pugh
Associate Director of Academic Affairs Support
npugh@ivytech.edu
219-981-4403
Richmond (Connersville, Richmond)
Melissa Kircher Smith
Director Academic Affairs Support
msmith@ivytech.edu
765-966-2656 ext. 1126
Southeast Indiana (Lawrenceburg, Madison)
Matt Probst
mprobst@ivytech.edu
812-537-4010 x5231
Southern Indiana (Sellersburg)
Kathy Nelson
Assistant Vice Chancellor Academic Affairs
knelson4@ivytech.edu
812-246-3301 ext 4224
Southwest (Evansville, Princeton, Tell City)
Mary Ann Sellars
Vice Chancellor Academic Affairs
msellars2@ivytech.edu
Wabash Valley (Terre Haute)
Allen Shotwell, Ph.D.
Professor/Dean
rshotwel@ivytech.edu
812-298-2203