Skip to main content

South Bend-Elkhart campus

The South Bend-Elkhart campus serves students and employers in St. Joseph, Elkhart and Marshall counties from locations in South Bend and Elkhart County. The campus annually serves full- and part-time students through its academic programs with more than 3,000 employees and citizens.

Ivy Tech Community College offers traditional courses in the classroom setting and distance learning (online) opportunities. Many of our courses, degrees and certificates transfer to four-year institutions. Learn more about the South Bend-Elkhart campus below.

Dr. Balkin's Welcome | Cabinet | Board of Trustees


Dr. Balkin's Welcome

On behalf of the trustees, faculty, staff and students of the South-Bend Elkhart campus, I welcome you to our campus page of the Ivy Tech website.

It’s an exciting time for Ivy Tech ─ both statewide and regionally. Our enrollment is growing and we continue to introduce new academic programs and workforce training designed specifically to provide Hoosiers with the training and skills necessary to build successful careers.

Never before has a college degree, certification or industry-recognized certification been as valuable as they are today. Ivy Tech is literally changing the lives of each and every one of our students. We are dedicated to student success with a strong focus on supporting our students from application to completion/graduation.

I'm confident that you'll find that Ivy Tech can meet your education and training needs. I wish you the best of luck in your college experience.

David K. Balkin, Ph.D.



South Bend-Elkhart Cabinet
David K. Balkin, Ph.D.
(574) 289-7001 ext. 5706
Katherine Kent, Ph.D.
Vice Chancellor, Academic Affairs
(574) 289-7001 ext. 5402
Alexandria Hall, Ed.D.
Vice Chancellor, Enrollment Services
(574) 289-7001 ext. 5442

Nikki Lebo
Exec. Dir., IT Operations - North
(765) 269-5483

Mark Melnick
Exec. Dir., Workforce Strategic Partnerships
(574) 289-7001 ext. 4501
Mike Popielski
Exec. Dir., Human Resources
(574) 289-7001 ext. 5411
Andrew Williams
Exec. Dir., Finance Administration
(574) 289-7001 ext. 6807
Sarah Rice
Exec. Dir., Resource Development
(574) 289-7001 ext. 6345
Juliann Jankowksi
Exec. Dir., K-14 Initiatives
(574) 289-7001 ext. 5778
Melissa Denton
Workforce Development Consultant
(574) 289-7001 ext. 5359
Lisa Wenzel
Director, Special Projects
(574) 289-7001 ext. 5858

School Deans


Violet Hawkins
Information Technology Business, Logistics & Supply Chain
(574) 289-7001 ext. 1037

Darlene Geoghan
(574) 289-7001 ext. 5727

Barbara MacMillan
Health Sciences | Public Affairs & Social Services
(574) 289-7001, ext. 6379

Shawn Oltz
Adv. Manufacturing, Engineering & Applied Sci
(574) 289-7001

Kathryn Waltz-Freel
Arts, Sciences & Education
(574) 289-7001 ext. 5417

Board of Trustees

South Bend-Elkhart Board of Trustees

Tina Patton
Indiana Trust and Investment Mgmt., vice president

Jerry Thacker, Ed.D.
Penn-Harris-Madison School Corp., superintendent

Jacqueline Barton
Specialized Staffing Solutions, president

Steve Egyed 
South Bend and Vicinity JATC Electrical Apprenticeship
Labor, director of training

Ben Clark
Farm Innovator, CEO

Suzanne Weirick
Elkhart County, commissioner

Kevin Deary
Boys & Girls Clubs of Elkhart County, CEO
Gregg Fore
G-G Media Group, partner
Kreg Gruber
Beacon Health System, CEO
Health Care
Anna Milligan
Retired health care, college advocate
Dick Pfeil
Pfeil Inc., president
State Trustee

Larry Garatoni
HQ Investments, CEO


2019-2020 Campus Board Meetings
  • Monday, Sept. 30, 2019
    • South Bend | Room 312 | 2 p.m.
  • Monday, Nov. 18, 2019
    • ELkhart | Community room | 2 p.m.
  • Monday, March 16, 2020
    • TBA
  • Monday, May 18, 2020
    • TBA
  • July 2020 retreat
    • TBA
  • Monday, Sept. 21, 2020
    • TBA
  • Monday, Nov. 16, 2020
    • TBA