Home > Statewide Transfer General Education Core > Transfer Core Info

Ivy Tech Community College's Statewide Transfer General Education Core (STGEC) is incorporated into all transfer curriculums unless program accreditation requirements dictate a different selection of courses. Through its STGEC requirements, Ivy Tech ensures breadth and creates a greater coherence in each student's overall education experience. The STGEC is designed to prepare students for successful transfer to the baccalaureate-degree granting institution of their choice. The STGEC was developed around Association of American Colleges & Universities' LEAP (Liberal Education and America's Promise) Essential Learning Outcomes and supports all eight General Education Outcomes developed and approved by the Ivy Tech faculty. With few exceptions, courses selected are from Indiana's Core Transfer Library.

Students who complete the STGEC requirements will have met the requirements for the Statewide Transfer General Education Core Certificate and will have this noted on their transcript. Although the college has adopted a single transfer general education core, students choose to complete one of two pathways, depending upon selected major: the traditional STGEC or the STEM or calculus-based pathway for majors requiring a strong science and mathematics foundation. The differences in course requirements and selections are noted below.

The College's General Education Outcomes include:
  1. Demonstrate critical and creative thinking.
  2. Recognize and understand cultural and individual differences, in terms of both contemporary and historical perspectives.
  3. Recognize and understand social, civic, and environmental responsibilities relative to our society.
  4. Apply basic scientific concepts in a variety of settings.
  5. Exhibit quantitative literacy.
  6. Communicate effectively in written and oral forms.
  7. Apply ethical reasoning.
  8. Demonstrate the acquisition and use of information.


You can view the current core requirements or the core requirements for academic years prior to 2013-2014.