Ivy Tech Community College has honored Marquis E. Songer of Terre Haute and Linda Pearson, Ph.D. of Greencastle, as two of the 39 individuals across the state selected to receive the 2022 President’s Award, the highest honor for Ivy Tech faculty and adjunct faculty.

“We are fortunate to have faculty members who exemplify excellence and represent Ivy Tech Community College remarkably,” stated Lea Anne Crooks, chancellor of Ivy Tech Terre Haute and Greencastle.

The College honored each of the winners for their exemplary work with students and the College community during the past year. A selection committee comprised of alumni, past winners, State Trustees, faculty representatives, and college administration selected the honorees based on nominations from students, fellow faculty members, and Ivy Tech staff.

“The impact our faculty members have on our students extends far beyond the classroom,” said Ivy Tech President, Sue Ellspermann, Ph.D. “In addition to leading courses, faculty members are often seen as mentors and role models for our students. Today, we are proud to recognize their excellence, passion, and dedication to Ivy Tech and the communities in which they live and serve.” Now in its 42nd year, the President’s Awards Program recognizes faculty and adjunct faculty members from Ivy Tech locations throughout the state.

The College also honored Marquis E. Songer with the Glenn W. Sample Founder’s Award for Excellence in Instruction.

David Will, the dean of the school of advanced manufacturing, engineering, and applied sciences nominated Marquis E. Songer for the award. Marquis is most notably known for his leadership, volunteerism, and innovation. “Marquis’ influence goes well beyond the Terre Haute Machine Tool Program,” said Will. “His impact can be seen by local high school students, local Ivy Tech machine tool students, statewide Ivy Tech machine tool students, and his Ivy Tech machining colleagues throughout the state”. 

The College also awarded Ivy Tech Anderson’s Cynthia Carlson, associate adjunct faculty of life sciences, with the Gerald I. Lamkin Award. Sample and Lamkin are two former Ivy Tech presidents. Sample helped found the College when it was called the Indiana Vocational Technical College and served as president from 1973-1980. Lamkin served as Ivy Tech president from 1983-2007, overseeing the growth of the College from a vocational school to the state’s community college.

The College also announced its first recipient of the Provost Award for Excellence in Honors and Teaching Service, Milan Andrejevich. The award is presented to a faculty member who has made significant contributions to the Ivy Tech Honors College in the areas of curriculum development, honors instruction, advisement and mentorship, assessment of student learning, multicultural experiences, and student research.

The winner of this year’s awards were as follows:

Glenn W. Sample Award

•   Terre Haute Campus: Marquis E. Songer – Assistant Professor and Program Chair, Machine Tool Technology

Gerald I. Lamkin Award

•    Anderson Campus: Cynthia Carlson – Associate Adjunct Faculty, Life Sciences

Provost Award for Excellence in Honors and Teaching Service •    South Bend-Elkhart Campus: Milan Andrejevich – Professor, History

About Ivy Tech Community College

Ivy Tech Community College is Indiana's largest public postsecondary institution and the nation's largest singly accredited statewide community college system, accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana and also serves thousands of students annually online. It serves as the state's engine of workforce development, offering associate degrees, long- and short-term certificate programs, industry certifications, and training that aligns with the needs of the community. The College provides a seamless transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana, as well as out of state, for a more affordable route to a bachelor's degree.