The Green and White Gala was held in the Illinois Fall Creek Center on Friday, Apr. 19, where students, staff, and faculty came together to celebrate the student organizations and individuals who positively impacted campus during the 2023-24 academic year. 

Hosted by the Office of Student Life, eight organizations and individuals received awards at the Gala. Below is a list of those honored. 

Program of the Year Award

ASA Boba & Mochi Party

This award recognizes the student organization that displayed the most successful program overall during the past year based on the program's uniqueness, attendance, the organization’s technique, creativity, marketing, and implementation strategies.

Organization of the year

Student Organization of Latinos

This award recognizes the most exceptional student organization over the past year. The recognized organization is selected based on its goal-setting strategies, event success, the leadership development of its members, collaboration with other organizations, and overall contribution to the College and/or Indianapolis community. This organization sets a precedent for other organizations to model.

Advisor of the year

Stephanie Robertson 

This award is presented to an Organization Advisor who, recognized by their advisor peers, faculty, staff, and students, has shown outstanding love, support, encouragement, and contribution to the Ivy Tech Community and their organization.

Outstanding Student Leader Award

Ahmadzia Momand

This award is presented to a student leader who exhibits exemplary leadership skills throughout the campus community. The criteria for selection include the quality of leadership, mutual respect among peers, dedication to improving campus life, development of their organization, and the ability to promote leadership development at Ivy Tech Community College—Indianapolis.

Servant leader award 

Kim Hernández

This award is presented to a student leader who goes above and beyond every day to serve their peers and organization. This student demonstrates grit and takes pride in serving the Ivy Tech-Indianapolis community through volunteer work, dedication, teamwork, and positivity.

Outstanding president award

Caroline Wiggins

This award goes to the student leader who has consistently shown superior leadership skills this year. This leader takes great pride in leading their organization, making sacrifices, and spending a significant amount of time with organizational duties.

Outstanding faculty of the year

Carrie Sample

This award is presented to a faculty member who has shown the students at Ivy Tech-Indianapolis outstanding love and support and has holistically supported our students as they navigate their academic, professional, and personal journeys. This faculty member nominee provides our students with quality education inside the classroom, as well as encouragement and support outside of the classroom. This individual is someone that our students would identify as a role model.

Staff member of the year

Christopher Wilburn

This award is presented to a staff member who goes above and beyond their job description daily to create a sense of belonging amongst their peers, colleagues, and student population. This staff member is well-known by students as welcoming, helpful, and kind. This staff member embodies integrity, positivity, and encouragement and is well-respected by the Ivy-Tech Indianapolis students.


About Ivy Tech Community College

Ivy Tech Community College is Indiana's largest public postsecondary institution and the nation's largest singly accredited statewide community college system, accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana and also serves thousands of students annually online. It serves as the state's engine of workforce development, offering associate degrees, long- and short-term certificate programs, industry certifications, and training that aligns with the needs of the community. The College provides a seamless transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana, as well as out of state, for a more affordable route to a bachelor's degree.