Ivy Tech Community College Bloomington welcomed 26 new Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society members at an induction ceremony held Tuesday, Nov. 30 in Shreve Hall. To join, students must have earned at least a 3.5 grade point average after completing 12 credit hours of coursework. The PTK Alpha Rho Sigma chapter at Ivy Tech Bloomington now has 328 members.

“I extend my congratulations to our newest PTK Honor Society inductees,” Chancellor Jennie Vaughan said. “As members of PTK Alpha Rho Sigma chapter at Ivy Tech Bloomington, students will have opportunities to travel, network, receive career and leadership training, and earn scholarships—ultimately helping them in their academic and professional pursuits.”

In March 2021, the PTK Alpha Rho Sigma chapter was named Indiana’s Most Distinguished Chapter for the second year in a row, scoring the highest in the state in combined college and honors in action projects. Alpha Rho Sigma is also a top 100 chapter for three years running. Chapter co-presidents are students Carrie Biddle and Sarah Ariyanfar. Chapter advisors are Dr. Steve Arnold, Jennifer Daily-Mantha, Joshua Farrington, and Dr. Samantha Levy-Arnold.

PTK serves to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership, and service. PTK is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than three million members and 1,300 chapters located in 50 United States, U.S. Territories, Canada, and Germany.

Ivy Tech accepts free applications year-round at www.ivytech.edu/apply, and has classes that start multiple times per year for quicker entry and graduation. Classes start again January 19, 2022. To get started at Ivy Tech Bloomington, contact bl-info@ivytech.edu or call 812-330-6013.

Fall 2021 PTK Honor Society Inductees
Hallie Baumann, Grace Brown, Aaron Chestnut, Lance Cowan, Natalie Craig, Sarah Crespo, Darian Evans, Tetiana Ford, Cortney Hart, Quincy Hearth, Rylee Hobbs, Priscilla Holley, Madison Jean, Andrea Lake, Jacob Lindsey, Griffin Lock, Katherine Lubben, Paul Lukey, Alana Michalow, Jennifer Moos, Ava Pawlowski, Rafael Ramirez, Victoria Sanders, Kurt Smiley, Karsen Trendelman, Braden Trester

About Ivy Tech Community College

Ivy Tech Community College is Indiana's largest public postsecondary institution and the nation's largest singly accredited statewide community college system, accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana and also serves thousands of students annually online. It serves as the state's engine of workforce development, offering associate degrees, long- and short-term certificate programs, industry certifications, and training that aligns with the needs of the community. The College provides a seamless transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana, as well as out of state, for a more affordable route to a bachelor's degree.