BLOOMINGTON – Ivy Tech Community College in partnership with the City of Bloomington Arts Commission invites nominations for the fourth-annual Community Arts Awards to honor local arts advocates, educators, and businesses. The event will be held on Saturday, Nov. 17 at the Ivy Tech John Waldron Arts Center, located at 122 S. Walnut St.

“Bloomington and our surrounding communities value art in such a special, tremendous way,” said Paul Daily, artistic director of the Ivy Tech Waldron. “It takes a community to create art, and the Arts Awards are a chance to recognize the people that have helped bring art to life, but may not have ever stood in the spotlight themselves.”

Award categories are Special Citation – Lifetime Achievement, Arts Advocacy, Arts in Business, and Arts in Education. This year, the Arts Advocacy Award has been renamed to the Patricia Murphy (Patty) Pizzo Arts Advocacy award, for her lifetime support of the arts in Bloomington. Patty retired from the Bloomington Arts Commission in 2013, after decades of extraordinary leadership and service.

The Special Citation – Lifetime Achievement Award will recognize any individual or organization deserving of recognition for their contribution to the arts. The Patricia Murphy Pizzo Arts Advocacy Award will recognize an individual who has provided service, leadership, and/or substantial support to the arts. The Arts in Business award will recognize a business for exemplary support of the arts. The Arts in Education Award will recognize an educator, school corporation, PTO or other entity directly influencing and engaging students through visual, literary or performing arts.

Nominations can be made online at and the deadline is Friday, August 10. Questions about award nominations can be directed to the Ivy Tech Waldron at (812) 330-4400 or

Recipients of the Community Arts Awards 2017 were: Arts Advocate, Audrey Heller; Special Citation – Lifetime Achievement, Peter Jacobi; Arts in Business, The Vault at Gallery Mortgage; Arts in Education, Diane Davis-Deckard; and Regional Arts Service, Kathy Thompson.

Recipients of the Community Arts Awards 2016 were: Arts Advocate, Ted Jones; Special Citation – Lifetime Achievement, Lee Williams; Arts in Business, Monroe Convention Center Bloomington Indiana; Arts in Education, Rhino’s Youth Center; and Regional Arts Service, Lawrence County Art Association/The Wiley Art Gallery.


Recipients of the Community Arts Awards 2015 were: Arts Advocate, Jim Manion; Special Citation – Lifetime Achievement, Jane C. Otten; Arts in Business, BLOOM Magazine; and Arts in Education, Sara Irvine and Chris Bultman.

About Ivy Tech Community College

Ivy Tech Community College is Indiana's largest public postsecondary institution and the nation's largest singly accredited statewide community college system, accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana and also serves thousands of students annually online. It serves as the state's engine of workforce development, offering associate degrees, long- and short-term certificate programs, industry certifications, and training that aligns with the needs of the community. The College provides a seamless transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana, as well as out of state, for a more affordable route to a bachelor's degree.