FEBRUARY 10, 2014

For more information, contact: Kelly Hauflaire, 317-917-5732, khauflaire@ivytech.edu

Ivy Tech Community College Announces Combination of Bloomington and Southwest Regions

Ivy Tech Community College’s State Board of Trustees has announced an additional regional structural change.  The State Board of Trustees asked College leadership to take steps to combine the Bloomington and Southwest (Evansville and Tell City) regions into one region to be overseen by a single chancellor.

Former Bloomington Chancellor John R. Whikehart retired from the College earlier this year and Southwest Chancellor Daniel L. Schenk recently announced his retirement effective at the end of this month.  Details regarding the naming of a single chancellor for the newly combined region will be announced at a later date.

“Ivy Tech will continue its focus on being responsive to the needs and workforce development efforts in Evansville and the surrounding areas along with Bloomington and its surrounding communities,” Ivy Tech President Thomas J. Snyder said.  “These changes will allow us to best assess existing skill gaps between available jobs and Indiana’s workforce in these markets and partner with business and industry to fill those gaps.”

In January the Board had announced the combination of the East Central region which includes the degree-granting locations of Anderson, Marion, Muncie and New Castle with the Richmond region which includes the Richmond and Connersville locations.  In addition the Board moved forward on the combination of the Columbus region with the Southeast region which includes locations in Batesville, Lawrenceburg and Madison.

Ivy Tech will now operate with 10 regional chancellors, a number that was as high as 14 in the past.  Chancellors will continue to oversee the 31-degree granting locations and 75+ educational sites throughout the state within the various regional boundaries.  While the College will consolidate administrative functions across the new combined regions, the current 14 regional board of trustees will continue to operate just as they have in the past.  Those regional board members will provide vital community outreach and operational expertise in assisting the regional chancellors.

The College earlier announced that it plans to name what it will refer to as Campus Presidents for an estimated 20 educational sites throughout the state, many of the College’s degree granting locations.  This new title will replace the current title of Vice Chancellor/Dean that exists in many of these locations, thus resulting in no additional new staff.  The Campus Presidents will report to the chancellors within the sites they serve.  The focus of the local Campus President will be outreach to the local community.

The regional organizational structure moving forward will include:

Northwest (East Chicago, Gary, Valparaiso, Michigan City) and North Central (Elkhart, South Bend, Warsaw)

Northeast (Ft. Wayne)

Lafayette (including Crawfordsville)

Kokomo (including Logansport, Wabash)

East Central (Anderson, Marion, Muncie, New Castle) and Richmond (including Connersville)

Southwest (Evansville, Tell City)  and Bloomington

Wabash Valley (Terre Haute)

Central Indiana (Indianapolis, Greencastle)

Columbus (including Franklin) and Southeast (Batesville, Lawrenceburg, Madison)


About Ivy Tech Community College

Ivy Tech Community College is Indiana's largest public postsecondary institution and the nation's largest singly accredited statewide community college system, accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana and also serves thousands of students annually online. It serves as the state's engine of workforce development, offering associate degrees, long- and short-term certificate programs, industry certifications, and training that aligns with the needs of the community. The College provides a seamless transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana, as well as out of state, for a more affordable route to a bachelor's degree.