By Dann Denny 331-4350 |
August 15, 2011

Ten students each received a $2,500 scholarship from a new scholarship program, launched by the Bloomington Hospital Foundation, designed to help future health care providers.

Among the winners are Amy Fish, an Ivy Tech student from Lawrence County studying radiation therapy who will graduate in the spring of 2012; Tamara Morrison, a Ball State University student from Owen County studying nursing who plans to graduate in the summer of 2012; and Ryan Trevithick, a Purdue University student from Lawrence County, studying pharmacy who plans to graduate in the spring of 2013.

Two winners are Indiana University students — Heather Gray, who is studying dietetics and plans to graduate in the spring of 2012; and Amanda Meyer, who is studying speech therapy and plans to graduate in the spring of 2012.

The other scholarship recipients are Lisa Racine, who is studying occupational therapy at IUPUI and graduated in June; Tiffany Brewer, who is attending Indiana State University to study nursing and plans to graduate in the fall of 2012; Danica Misz, who is studying dietetics at IUPUI and graduated in June; Olivia Nguyen, a Purdue University student, who is studying pharmacy and plans to graduate in the spring of 2012; Natalie Fishel, who is studying physical therapy at the University of Evansville, and plans to graduate in the spring of 2013.

The scholarship winners were chosen by a selection committee from a pool of 53 student applicants in south central Indiana.

To be eligible for one of the $2,500 scholarships, students needed to be enrolled in a degree program for qualifying health care careers.

“We had many applicants with outstanding credentials which included high grades, many volunteer activities and compelling letters of recommendation from their peers, professors, and supervisors,” said Catherine Sherwood-Laughlin, scholarship committee member and Bloomington Hospital Foundation board member in a prepared statement. “Therefore, selecting the award recipients was difficult.”

The 2011 scholarship recipients are, from left, Lisa Racine, Amy Fish, Tiffany Brewer, Danica Misz, Olivia Nguyen, Tamara Morrison, Heather Gray and Amanda Meyer. Not pictured are Ryan Trevithick and Natalie Fishel. Courtesy photo

Copyright: 2011

About Ivy Tech Community College

Ivy Tech Community College is Indiana's largest public postsecondary institution and the nation's largest singly accredited statewide community college system, accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana and also serves thousands of students annually online. It serves as the state's engine of workforce development, offering associate degrees, long- and short-term certificate programs, industry certifications, and training that aligns with the needs of the community. The College provides a seamless transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana, as well as out of state, for a more affordable route to a bachelor's degree.