Arts Commission Changing Regional Boundaries Report

The Indiana Arts Commission says it is modifying some of its Regional Arts Partnership boundaries. Executive Director Lewis Ricci says the changes will allow the organization to better meet the cultural needs of each part of the state.

December 20, 2011

Indianapolis, Ind. – The Indiana Arts Commission (IAC) announced today that it will be making modifications to some of its Regional Arts Partnership boundaries.

At its recent Quarterly Business Meeting, the Commission unanimously approved the changes that will shift IAC Regional Arts Partner service responsibilities for seven counties. Counties which previously made up the IAC’s Region 11 will now be served by other regional providers.

Martin and Orange counties will now be part of Region 8 which, effective January 1, 2012 will be served by Ivy Tech Community College of Indiana, based in Bloomington.

Daviess, Dubois, and Perry counties will become part of Region 10 and, effective January 1, 2012 will be served by Vanderburgh Community Foundation, based in Evansville.

Crawford County will join Region 12, which is currently served by the Community Arts Program at Hanover College, Hanover, IN.

“These changes very closely match existing service areas for both our continuing and new Regional Arts Partner organizations in those areas,” said IAC Executive Director Lewis C. Ricci.

In addition to these changes Adams County, which had been part of Region 5, will become part of Region 3 which is served by Arts United of Greater Fort Wayne. Effective January 1, 2012, Region 5 will be served by the Community Foundation of Randolph County.

“Throughout the history of the Regional Arts Partnership, the flexibility of the regional system has proven itself,” Ricci said. “The Regional Partnership is able to adapt to changes in organizations and in service areas to best meet changing cultural needs of those regions. We look forward in 2012 to working with our new Regional Arts Partner organizations.”

The Indiana Arts Commission is dedicated to the vision of the arts everywhere, every day, for everyone in Indiana.

Source: Indiana Arts Commission

About Ivy Tech Community College

Ivy Tech Community College is Indiana's largest public postsecondary institution and the nation's largest singly accredited statewide community college system, accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana and also serves thousands of students annually online. It serves as the state's engine of workforce development, offering associate degrees, long- and short-term certificate programs, industry certifications, and training that aligns with the needs of the community. The College provides a seamless transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana, as well as out of state, for a more affordable route to a bachelor's degree.