The President’s Awards for Excellence in Instruction honor Ivy Tech Community College's most prestigious faculty and adjunct faculty for their accomplishments both in and out of the classroom.

This annual tradition, which began in 1983, recognizes faculty and adjunct faculty members from Ivy Tech locations throughout the state.

Along with being recognized with the President's Award, each full-time faculty member is eligible for the Glenn W. Sample Award Founder's Award for Excellence in Instruction, while each Adjunct Faculty member is eligible for the Gerald I. Lamkin Award. Sample and Lamkin are two former Ivy Tech presidents. Sample helped to found the College when it was still the Indiana Vocational Technical College, while Lamkin oversaw the growth of the College from a vocational school to the state's community college.


Glenn W. Sample Award
James Hamilton - Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering Technology (Indianapolis)

Gerald I. Lamkin Award
Catherine Swinney - Adjunct Faculty/Clinical Instructor PN and ASN Nursing Program (Columbus)


Faculty Honorees (by Ivy Tech location):

  • Anderson: Duane Wolfe - Assistant Professor of Mathematics & Assistant Department Chair for the School of Arts, Sciences and Education
  • Bloomington: Kyle M. Hetrick, Ph.D. - Associate Professor and Assistant Chair, Biology and Anatomy & Physiology
  • Columbus: Michael S.C. Kelley - Assistant Program Chair/Assistant Professor Welding
  • Fort Wayne: Matthew (Matt) Fisher - Associate Professor, Economics
  • Indianapolis: James Hamilton - Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering Technology
  • Kokomo: Jia Hardimon-Eddington - Surgical Technology Instructor
  • Lafayette: Elizabeth Hayden - Program Chair/Faculty Respiratory Therapy
  • Lake County: Teresa Hallmen - Program Chair Medical Assisting
  • Lawrenceburg: Amanda Purcell - Associate Professor of Education/Program Chair Early Childhood Education Elementary Education & Secondary Education
  • Madison: Ronald Novak - F4 Industrial Technology
  • Marion: Ceola Friday - Program Chair Early Childhood Education
  • Muncie: Octavia Thorns-Jackson - Department Chair, English, Communications, and World Languages
  • Richmond: Kristen Soots - Program Chair General Studies/Assistant Professor of Mathematics
  • Sellersburg: Kimberly Reynolds - Associate Professor of English/Ivy Achieves Champion
  • South Bend – Elkhart: Rosario Hiestand - Full-Time Professor Early Childhood Education
  • Terre Haute: Angela Hayes - Assistant Professor Human Services
  • Valparaiso: Mitzi Mary Simerlein, D.C. - Assistant Professor Liberal and Physical Sciences

Adjunct Faculty Honorees (by Ivy Tech location):

  • Anderson: Christine Quinn - Adjunct Faculty, Healthcare Specialist and CNA Director
  • Bloomington: Mary Jane Fleener, MSN,RN - Adjunct Faculty, Nursing
  • Columbus: Catherine Swinney - Adjunct Faculty/Clinical Instructor PN and ASN Nursing Program
  • Evansville: August "John" Paulson - Adjunct Faculty, Human Services
  • Fort Wayne: James (Jim) Graham - Adjunct Faculty, Automotive Technology
  • Indianapolis: Dianna Davis - Faculty/Mentor and Course Developer, IvyOnline
  • Kokomo: David Lingle - Automotive Instructor
  • Lafayette: Brooke Criswell - Adjunct Lecturer
  • Lake County: Lee Richard Purcell - Adjunct Faculty, Communication/PT Academic Advisor
  • Lawrenceburg: C. Martin Justice - Adjunct Faculty, Human Services
  • Madison: Rae Jean Morris - Adjunct Instructor School of Nursing
  • Marion: Vicki Schumacher - Adjunct Faculty, Medical Assisting
  • Muncie: Felix Rippy - Adjunct Professor of Business and Technology
  • Richmond: Sunshine McCartt - Adjunct Faculty
  • Sellersburg: Veronica Munn - Associate Adjunct Instructor, English
  • South Bend – Elkhart: Fernando Ramirez III - Adjunct Faculty, Environmental Design
  • Terre Haute: Brandon Hall - Adjunct Faculty/Lab Assistant Agriculture
  • Valparaiso: Thomas Bancsi- Adjunct Faculty/Lead Occupational Therapist

About Ivy Tech Community College

Ivy Tech Community College is Indiana's largest public postsecondary institution and the nation's largest singly accredited statewide community college system, accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana and also serves thousands of students annually online. It serves as the state's engine of workforce development, offering associate degrees, long- and short-term certificate programs, industry certifications, and training that aligns with the needs of the community. The College provides a seamless transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana, as well as out of state, for a more affordable route to a bachelor's degree.