Home > President's Award for Excellence in Instruction

Ivy Tech President's Awards for Excellence in InstructionAbout the President's Awards

The President’s Awards for Excellence in Instruction honor Ivy Tech Community College's most prestigious faculty for their accomplishments both in and out of the classroom.

This annual tradition, which began in 1983, recognizes one full-time faculty member per campus. Each recipient receives an Ivy Oscar and $1000 professional development grant.

All winners are also nominees for the Founder's Award, which is the highest honor the College can bestow upon faculty members. Recipients of the Founder's award receive a commemorative medallion, an after-tax award of $5,000 and a $1,000 grant for instructional supplies and materials. 

2020 President's Award Recipients

The 18 winners of Ivy Tech's annual President's Awards, the highest honor given to faculty by Ivy Tech, have been recognized across the state. The recipients were selected based on nominations from students, their fellow faculty members, and Ivy Tech staff. Now in its 40th year, the program recognizes one full-time faculty member at each campus for reflecting Ivy Tech's mission.

Dr. Sue Ellspermann, president of Ivy Tech, says the President's Awards reflect both the college's commitment to the college's faculty and the unique qualities that make Ivy Tech special.

"Our faculty members are intently focused on student success," Ellspermann said. "They are pivotal to Ivy Tech's role in preparing students for successful careers and encouraging them to be fully engaged in their communities. On behalf of everyone at Ivy Tech, we congratulate them for receiving this honor and applaud them for inspiring their colleagues across the state, our staff, and our students through their example."

Each award winner went the extra mile to make a difference in the lives of Ivy Tech students.

Along with being recognized with the President's Award, each of the 18 winners is eligible for the Glenn W. Sample Award Founder's Award for Excellence in Instruction, which is presented to the outstanding Ivy Tech faculty member throughout the state. The Founder's Award recipient announced at the June 23, 2020 Virtual Ceremony was Joshua Farrington, Assistant Professor of Philiosophy at the Bloomington Campus.

Learn more about all the winners below.

Glen W. Sample Founder's Award Winner

Joshua Farrington
Assistant Professor of Philosophy
Bloomington Campus

My teaching philosophy revolves around "Farrington's 5 F's of Student Flourishing: Freedom, Friendliness, Flexibility, Follow-Up, and Follow-through."


Stacey Alspaugh
Assistant Professor of
Dental Hygiene Clinical Coordinator
Anderson Campus

My teaching philosophy revolves around effective teaching as an intricate process that includes implementing teaching methods to maximize student learning.


Cyrus Screwvala
Instructor, Mathematics, and Physics
Columbus Campus

My teaching philosophy is to give all of my students every opportunity to succeed, and I encourage them to persevere in the class as much as possible.


Barbara Rendleman
Associate Professor,
School of Arts, Sciences, and Education
Evansville Campus

My teaching philosophy revolves around the non-traditional philosophy "The Poinsettia Method."


Dr. Michelle Hagan-Short
Professor/Dept. Chair
Business Operations, Applications,
and Technology Program, and
Supply Chain Management Program
Fort Wayne Campus

My teaching philosophy focuses on establishing a learner-centered environment that values mutual respect, lifelong learning, and learner success.


Stephanie Egler
Assistant Professor for School of Nursing
Indianapolis Campus

My teaching philosophy to enhance teaching skills and have a positive impact on students' growth and success is through professional development and continuing education.


Allison Toren
Dept. Chair, Communication,
General Studies, and Student Success;
Assistant Professor of Communication
Kokomo Campus

My teaching philosophy revolves around my desire to have students understand and use the material; my classroom experiences are often filled with hands-on, role-playing, or small group activities and discussions.


Kelley Butler
Program Chair and Associate Professor, Accounting Program
Lafayette Campus

My teaching philosophy comes from getting to know my students early in the semester.


Douglas Lalama
Assistant Professor of Psychology
Lake County Campus

My teaching philosophy has been developed by examining what I enjoyed about education. I always liked teachers that could relate the subject matter to real life.


Becky Pohle
Professor/Program Chair Mathematics
Lawrenceburg Campus

My teaching philosophy is recognizing every student is unique and important.


Theresa Kapfhammer
Associate Professor, School of Nursing
Madison Campus

My teaching philosophy revolves around having a positive impact on students.


Jessica Mankey
Associate Professor of Communication
Marion Campus

My teaching philosophy centralizes around the idea that education is foundational to understanding, reflecting on, and acting with agency in the world.


Olufunmilola Olorunda
Associate Professor/Dept. Chair
School of Information Technology
Muncie Campus

My teaching philosophy as an instructor is to adopt appropriate teaching and learning techniques to increase students' understanding in an immersive, collaborative, and engaging environment.


Holly Lemar
Assistant Professor of Nursing
Anderson Campus

My teaching philosophy centers around innovation and resourcefulness in the classroom.


David Bennett
Professor Liberal Arts
Sellersburg Campus

My teaching philosophy was developed by a teaching approach based on the dedication committed priority to engage students.


George Twaddle
Program Chair Biology and Biotechnology;
SASE Science Department Chair
South Bend/Elkhart Campus

My teaching philosophy revolves around effective teaching as an intricate process that includes implementing teaching methods to maximize student learning.


Krissie Pickering
Associate Professor/ Dept. Chair
Early Childhood Education
Terre Haute Campus

My teaching philosophy is influenced by my theory of learning. My theory of learning is closely tied to my training as an early childhood special educator.


Traci Bryan
Associate Professor, English,
Tutoring Coordinator, Department Chair,
Student Success
Valparaiso Campus

My teaching philosophy is knowing that teaching is not a job but a calling.