Two join Ivy Tech Community College-Wabash Valley regional board of directors

Two Wabash Valley leaders joined the Ivy Tech Community College—Wabash Valley Regional Board of Directors on June 6, 2013 to serve two-year terms.

Joining the board is William (Bill) J. Kauffman, business development officer for First Financial Bank. Kauffman earned a B.S. degree in radio and television from Indiana State University and began his career at WIIL-TV. After more than 25 years in sales at WTHI-TV, he became director of sales at Hulman Print Services. He joined First Financial Bank in 2009. Kauffman actively serves the community through the Breakfast Optimists, Downtown Rotary, Ducks Unlimited, First Baptist Church, Miss Indiana Scholarship Pageant, Terre Haute Children’s Museum and the Wabash Valley Breast Cancer Survivor’s, Inc.

Also joining the board is Michael L. Mitchell, executive vice president and chief technology officer for Sony DADC's Americas region. He is responsible for manufacturing and technical operations deployed in support of the CD, CD-ROM, DVD, UMD and Blu-ray product lines. Additionally, he is responsible for operational matters at five Sony manufacturing locations in Canada, the United States, Mexico and Brazil. Mitchell began his career with Sony in 1984. Before his work at Sony, Mitchell was with Martin Marietta Aerospace (now Lockheed Martin) where he produced flight hardware for the space shuttle program. He holds a B.S. degree in electrical engineering from Northern Illinois University and is the recipient of eight patents related to electronic, optical disc and production technologies.

These board vacancies have been created by two departing members.  Brock Blinn, senior human resource manager of PolyOne Corporation resigned in June after four years of service. Norm Lowery, president and CEO of First Financial Bank completes 10 years of service at the end of June.

Kauffman and Mitchell will work along side Wabash Valley Board members: Kenneth Baker, Taghleef Industries; Patrick Board, Union Health System; Jo Ann Carmichael, Carmichael Farms; Lori Danielson, Clabber Girl Corporation; Jeffrey Lorick, Terre Haute Human Relations Commission; Dr. Carolyn Milner, Cloverdale School Corporation; and Donnie Ritter, Plumbers & Steamfitters Local 157.