Scholarships help Ivy Tech Students Realize Their Dream

Ivy Tech Community College—Wabash Valley held a scholarship reception at its Terre Haute campus on Thursday, June 26, to recognize a group of 2014-15 scholarship award winners and donors.  The event provided an opportunity for donors to meet scholarship recipients, recipients to thank donors and an opportunity for both to share their own personal stories.

"This is a great time for us. It is a time to celebrate both our donors and recipients," said Terre Haute Campus President, Lea Anne Crooks.  "Over and over again, we see students struggle with financial barriers.  We are excited when we are able to eliminate some of those barriers with scholarship dollars.  It is a celebration of everyone's hard work." 

For the 2014-15 academic year, Ivy Tech Community College—Wabash Valley awarded over $156,000 to over 130 students in Clay, Greene, Parke, Putnam, Sullivan, Vermillion and Vigo counties in Indiana and Crawford, Clark and Edgar counties in Illinois.  Additional scholarships will be awarded for the spring 2015 semester.

Scholarships make it possible for qualified students to attend Ivy Tech and surround themselves with the academic excellence that will empower them to change their lives.  "We are pleased to have this opportunity to support Ivy Tech and to make a positive impact on someone's life," said Jo Ann Carmichael, Regional Board Trustee and scholarship donor.

"This scholarship means a lot, and I'm grateful to receive it," said Oakley Memorial Scholarship recipient, Apryl Brown.   "It's all about determination and grit.  Having to cut my hours at work to stay in school, with my kids and trying to manage everything, this is really going to help."  Apryl is in the Nursing Program (ASN) and plans to graduate in May 2015. 

Additional scholarships awarded include, First Financial Bank Scholarships, Frances & Harry Price Scholarship, Liberal Arts Scholarship, LTL General Scholarship, Staff Senate Scholarships, ASN Scholarship, B & S Plumbing Scholarship, C. Huston Isaacs Scholarships, Carmichael Farms Scholarship, Clara Fairbanks Scholarships, Hamilton Center Scholarship, Hannig Memorial Scholarships, Herbert Refkin Scholarship, Terre Haute PEO Scholarship, Crown Electric Scholarships, Donald E. Nelson Scholarships, Esther Reupke Memorial Scholarships, Futures Unlimited Endowment, Harvey S. Poling, Jr. Scholarship, Lori Bear Memorial Scholarship, Oakley Memorial Scholarships, Ralph G. & Mary L. Barkley Scholarships, Scheid Diesel Scholarship, Terre Haute Regional Hospital Scholarship, Terre Haute Savings Bank Scholarships, Academic Scholarships, Bemis Company Scholarships and Eugene Martin & the Class of 1958 Scholarships.

Using institutional dollars, Ivy Tech Community College also awarded 19 scholarships to high achieving high school graduates based on their academic performance. 

Scholarship gifts to the Ivy Tech Foundation directly benefit students and enhance Ivy Tech's educational programs and services.  Giving to the Ivy Tech Foundation is an investment in Indiana’s future.  For more information, contact Becky Miller, Executive Director of Resource Development, at 812.298.2361 or email