About Ivy Tech Northwest

Ivy Tech Community College has educated students in Lake, LaPorte, Porter, Pulaski, Jasper, Newton and Starke counties since 1968. It is part of the 14-region statewide Ivy Tech Community College system - the largest and fastest growing public higher education system in Indiana. Ivy Tech Community College Northwest is the largest college/university in northwest Indiana.

Along with the administrative personnel that manage day-to-day operations of the College, a regional board comprised of seven trustees governs Ivy Tech Community College Northwest.

Six schools compose the College’s offerings: Applied Science and Engineering, Business, Education, Health Sciences, Liberal Arts and Sciences, Public and Social Services, and Technology. For students unable to attend classes on campus, the distance learning program provides options for continuing or completing degrees and certificates online. The college also offers a schedule of continuing education courses. Continuing Education courses provide personal enrichment and skill upgrades on a non-credit basis.

Annual enrollment for the Northwest Region averages over 15,000 students on its four campuses: Gary, Foundations of East Chicago De La Garza Campus, Valparaiso and The Pejic Campus in Michigan City. Each campus provides programs that address the needs of its unique community.

Ivy Tech Community College is accredited by the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools. The College is a member of the American Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers, the American Association of Community Colleges, the Association of Community College Trustees, EDUCAUSE, the National Association of College and University Business Officers, the National Association of Colleges and Employers, the National Association of Financial Aid Administrators, the National Council for Research and Planning, the National Council on Student Development, and the Society for College and University Planning.