Liberal Arts

LIBERAL ARTS

The Associate of Arts and Associate of Science in Liberal Arts are transfer programs that provide you with an opportunity to complete the first two years of study leading to a bachelor's degree in liberal arts areas. Articulation agreements have been established with all the public, four-year universities in Indiana so that if you complete your associate degree, you may fulfill the requirements for a related bachelor's degree in an additional two years of full-time study at the university.

Transfer Degrees:

Associate of Arts (60 credit hours = 4 semesters)

The Associate of Arts degree prepares students for transfer to a university to pursue a baccalaureate degree. The curriculum offers a strong foundation in fundamental areas such as humanities, social sciences, communications, foreign language, science, and mathematics. The Associate of Arts degree in Liberal Arts transfers to some Indiana public and private colleges and universities. Graduates will also earn the Transfer General Education Certificate.

Courses you will take 

Electives

Your advisor will help you select electives for your program. Statewide electives, Transfer General Education Core (TGEC) electives, and Transfer Cluster electives vary by degree.

Transfer Options

To find out information about your transfer options to public and private universities, contact your academic advisor or the Transfer Office at your local Ivy Tech campus. You are also encouraged to contact the university in which you plan to transfer.

This course schedule is based on full-time attendance for students who have demonstrated college readiness. Please review our course schedules for full-time with college prep courses, part-time and part-time with college prep courses.



Associate of Science (60 credit hours = 4 semesters)

The Associate of Science degree prepares students for transfer to a university to pursue a baccalaureate degree. The curriculum offers a strong foundation in fundamental areas such as humanities, social sciences, communications, science, and mathematics. The Associate of Science degree in Liberal Arts transfers to some Indiana public and private colleges and universities. The Associate of Arts degree in Liberal Arts transfers to some Indiana public and private colleges and universities. Graduates will also earn the Transfer General Education Certificate.

Courses you will take

This course schedule is based on full-time attendance for students who have demonstrated college readiness. Please review our course schedules for full-time with college prep courses, part-time and part-time with college prep courses.

NOTE: The number of credits required for a degree or certificate is based on students who are program-ready and does not include College Prep courses. Availability of degrees and certificates varies by campus.

Liberal Arts programs are offered at the following Ivy Tech campuses:

Bloomington

Contacts:

Martin Wolfger
Dean of Liberal Arts and Sciences
mwolfger@ivytech.edu
(812) 330-6131

Keith Klein
Communications - Program Chair
(812) 330-6262
kklein@ivytech.edu

Annie Gray
English - Department Chair
(812) 330-6038
agray@ivytech.edu

Carol Simmons
English - Assistant Department Chair
(812) 330-6033
csimmons@ivytech.edu

Jennifer Daily-Mantha
Social Sciences and Languages – Department Chair
(812) 330-6301
jdailymantha@ivytech.edu

Dr. Gus Weltsek
Arts and Humanities – Department Chair
(812) 330-6227
gweltsek@ivytech.edu

Beth Pless
Life Skills/Student Success – Program Chair
(812) 330-6239
bpless@ivytech.edu

Dr. Steve Arnold
Life/Physical Science – Program Chair
(812) 330-6047
sarnold@ivytech.edu

Dr. Cecil Ellard
Mathematics – Department Chair
(812) 330-6032
cellard@ivytech.edu

Ben Markham
Mathematics – Assistant Department Chair
(812) 330-6070
bmarkham@ivytech.edu

Michael James
Social/Behavioral Sciences – Department Chair
(812) 330-6283
mjames@ivytech.edu

Central Indiana (Franklin, Indianapolis)

Concentrations:

Communication
Charles Gidney
cgidney@ivytech.edu

English
Tiffani Butler
tbutler56@ivytech.edu

History
John Cooney
jcooney@ivytech.edu

Humanities
John Cooney
jcooney@ivytech.edu

General Studies
Sherry Moore
smoore170@ivytech.edu

Economics
Sara Shlaer
sshlaer@ivytech.edu

Political Science
Sara Shlaer
sshlaer@ivytech.edu

Psychology
Sara Shlaer
sshlaer@ivytech.edu

Sociology
Sara Shlaer
sshlaer@ivytech.edu

Science
Keith Vogelsang
kvogelsang@ivytech.edu

Mathematics
Les Meyer
lmeyer11@ivytech.edu

Columbus
  • Columbus Campus
    Jo Ann Hallawell, Department Chair, English, Communications & Humanities
    812-374-5260
  • Thomas Sobat, Department Chair, Mathematics & Science
    812-374-5228
  • Maribeth Anderson, Ass?t. Chair, Honors & Accelerated Programs
    812-374-5149
  • James Boldman, Ass?t. Chair, Communications & Foreign Language
    812-374-5331
  • Suzanne Gould, Ass?t. Chair, Life & Physical Sciences
    812-374-5350
  • Erin Lehman, Ass?t. Chair, English
    812-374-5335
  • Aaron Miller, Ass?t. Chair, Humanities
    812-374-5351
  • Shannan Norrell, Ass?t Chair, IVYT & ESOL
    812-374-5330
  • Michael Spencer, Ass?t. Chair, Mathematics
    812-374-5159
  • Richard Lamborn, Ass?t. Chair, Social & Behavioral Sciences
    812 374-5189
East Central (Anderson, Marion, Muncie, New Castle)
Contacts:

Anderson

English, Communication, and Languages
Dr. James Wood
765-643-5745, ext. 1072
jwood54@ivytech.edu

Social Sciences and Humanities
Professor La Tishia Smith
765-643-5745, ext. 1047
lsmith202@ivytech.edu

Biological and Chemical Sciences
Professor Michele Moore
765-643-7133, ext. 2372
mmoore@ivytech.edu

Mathematics and Physical Sciences
Professor Duane Wolfe
765-643-5745, ext. 1007
dwolfe15@ivytech.edu

Marion

English, Communication, and Languages
Heather Gemmen Wilson
765-651-3100, ext. 3438
hwilson60@ivytech.edu

Social Sciences and Humanities
Professor Monica Heller
765-651-3111 ext. 3427
mheller5@ivytech.edu

Biological and Chemical Sciences
Professor Mark Robbins
765-651-3111, ext. 3407
mrobbins@ivytech.edu

Mathematics and Physical Sciences
Professor Ian Blair
765-651-3111, ext. 3426
iblair@ivytech.edu

Muncie

English, Communication, and Languages
Professor Stephanie Webster
765-289-2291, ext. 1398
swebster17@ivytech.edu

Social Sciences and Humanities
Professor Elke Grogg
Social Sciences (ANTH, GEOG, HIST, POLS, PSYC, & SOCI)
765-289-2291, ext. 1371
egrogg@ivytech.edu

Professor Nancy McWilliams
Humanities (ARTH, ECON, HUMA, IVYT, & PHIL)
765-289-2291, ext. 1442
nmcwilliams@ivytech.edu

Biological and Chemical Sciences
Professor Lorraine Reese
765-289-2291, ext. 1396
lreese@ivytech.edu

Mathematics and Physical Sciences
Professor Michael Wedgeworth
765-289-2291, ext. 1409
mwedgewo@ivytech.edu

Kokomo (Kokomo, Logansport)

Contact
Kokomo

Megan Burriss, academic secretary
800-459-0561, ext. 405


Gwenn Eldridge, English and Math department chair
800-459-0561, ext. 403

Ken Ferries, social and behavioral sciences program chair
800-459-0561, ext. 380

Emily Getty, sciences program chair
800-459-0561, ext. 386

Thomas Ghering, student success, general studies
800-459-0561, ext. 377

Allison Toren, professional communication program chair
800-459-0561, ext. 389

Ethan Heicher, dean of liberal arts and sciences and fine arts and design
800-459-0561, ext. 382

Gretchen Jordan, mathematics program chair
800-459-0561, ext. 378

Amy McCauley, English program chair
800-459-0561, ext. 383

Steve Whikehart, education program chair
765-459-0561, ext. 390

Logansport

Joshua Rockey, department chair
866-753-5102, ext. 2190

Elizabeth Murray, humanities program chair
866-753-5102, ext. 2135

Lafayette

Contact
Malathi Balachander
Department Chair, Math and Sciences
(765) 269-5142

Sarah Elizabeth Guerrettaz
Department Chair, English, Communication, and Student Success
(765) 269-5909

Ken S. Mueller
Department Chair, Humanities, Social and Behavioral Sciences
(765) 269-5403

North Central (Elkhart, South Bend, Warsaw)
Concentrations:
English and Communication
Foreign Languages
Humanities
Life/Physical Science
Mathematics
Social/Behavioral Science

Liberal Arts and General Education Courses by Category

For more information contact Dr. James Powell at 574-289-7001, ext. 5377 or jpowell@ivytech.edu.

Northeast (Fort Wayne)
Contacts:

Dr. Kim Barnett-Johnson, Dean
kbarnett@ivytech.edu

Behavioral Science
Patricia Kemerer
260-480-2025
pkemerer@ivytech.edu

Communications
Rebecca Bishop
260-481-2209
rbishop25@ivytech.edu

English 093-100+
Deanna Surfus
260-481-2286
dprice62@ivytech.edu

English 083/ESOL
Maria Tsakova
260-480-4281
mtsakova@ivytech.edu

General Studies
Shannon Crowder-Gerber
260-480-2034
sgerber14@ivytech.edu
OR
Joyce Kerns
260-481-2264
jkerns@ivytech.edu

Humanities & Capstone
Teresa Vazquez-Hall
260-480-4166
tvazquez@ivytech.edu

Life Sciences
Theresa Bissell
260-480-4184
tbissel@ivytech.edu

Mathematics
Karen Jones
260-481-2266
kjones82@ivytech.edu

Physical Science
Provi Mayo
260-480-2070
pmayo@ivytech.edu

Social Sciences
Lisa Beringer
260-481-2208
lberinger@ivytech.edu

Student Success
Rula Mourad-Koudsia
260-481-2200
rmourad@ivytech.edu

Northwest (East Chicago, Gary, Michigan City, Valparaiso)

English and Communication Program Chair
   Jared Riddle
   East Chicago Campus
   (219)392-3600

Humanities and Foreign Language Program Chair
   Lanette Mullins
   Valparaiso Campus
   (219)464-8514

Mathematics Program Chair
   Liljana Stalevska
   Valparaiso Campus
   (219)464-8514

Science Program Chair
   Laura Rosillo
   Gary Campus
   (219)981-1111

Social Science Program Chair
   Deb Stipp
   Gary Campus
   (219)981-1111

Liberal Arts and Sciences Program Information

Richmond
Contact:

Charles D. Gidney, MA
School of Liberal Arts Program Chair/Associate Professor, Communications
Ivy Tech Community College - Richmond
2357 Chester Boulevard
Richmond, IN 47374-1298
Phone: 765-966-2656, ext. 1118  Toll free: 800-659-4562, ext. 1118
Fax: (765) 962-8741
Email: cgidney@ivytech.edu
www.ivytech.edu/richmond

Southeast (Lawrenceburg, Madison)
School of Liberal Arts & Sciences - Liberal Arts Program
MADISON

590 Ivy Tech Drive
Madison, IN 47250

Amanda Harsin
(812) 265-2580 Ext. 4113
(800) 403-2190 Ext. 4113
aharsin1@ivytech.edu

LAWRENCEBURG & BATESVILLE

50 Walnut Street
Lawrenceburg, IN 47025

Nicole Gonzalez
(812) 537-4010 Ext. 5265
(800) 715-1058 Ext. 5265
ngonzale@ivytech.edu

Southern Indiana (Sellersburg)
SCHOOL OF LIBERAL ARTS AND SCIENCES
Contacts

Robert York
Dean of School of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Dean of Fine Arts and Design
812 246.3301, ext 4251

Southwest (Evansville)

Liberal Arts Program Sheet

Contacts:

Dr. Paul Odney
Dean, School of Liberal Arts & Sciences
812-429-1411
podney@ivytech.edu


LouAnne Kuntzman
ASA English and IVYT Student Success - Program Chair
812-429-1385
lkuntzma@ivytech.edu


Scott O’Daniel
Communications - Program Chair
812-429-1462
sodaniel@ivytech.edu


Carole Ann Chapman
English - Program Chair
812-429-9823
cchapman@ivytech.edu


Antonina Ries
Life & Physical Sciences - Program Chair
812-429-9872
aries@ivytech.edu


Jan Weiss
Mathematics - Program Chair
812-429-9819
jweiss@ivytech.edu


Dr. David Thomas
Social & Behavioral Science/Humanities - Program Chair
812-429-1455
jthomas324@ivytech.edu

Wabash Valley (Terre Haute)

Liberal Arts Program Sheet

Contact:

Allen Shotwell, Ph.D.
Program Chair, Liberal Arts & Sciences
8000 South Education Drive
Terre Haute, Indiana  47802
812-298-2203
rshotwel@ivytech.edu