Media Contact
Amanda J. Billings, Executive Director of Marketing and Communications

Phone: (812) 330-6222   |   Fax: (812) 330-6205

Ivy Tech Students Commit to Complete College

Today, Ivy Tech Community College-Bloomington students, faculty and staff will sign certificates committing to community college completion, as part of a national initiative. Ivy Tech campuses across the state are participating in a “Commit to Complete” day initiative, which is designed to raise awareness of the benefits of college completion. A short ceremony will be held at Ivy Tech Bloomington’s main campus at 200 Daniels Way, at 2:00 p.m. in the student commons with Bloomington Mayor Mark Kruzan and Ivy Tech Bloomington Chancellor Whikehart. Students, faculty and staff will gather to show their support for and commitment to college completion. The initiative is hosted by the Phi Theta Kappa honor society.

In April 2011, Phi Theta Kappa (honor society for community colleges) was invited to sign the historic Democracy's Call to Action to promote college completion, a unified move by the most influential organizations in the community college arena. Phi Theta Kappa was the only student organization invited to be a part of this landmark agreement. Phi Theta Kappa called on their chapters across the country to promote college completion, as part of a national initiative to increase the number of community college certificates and associated degrees awarded by 5 million over the next 10 years. They asked chapters to help raise awareness of the benefits of college completion by holding a Commit to Complete Day.

Ivy Tech Community College is the state’s largest public postsecondary institution and the nation’s largest singly accredited statewide community college system serving nearly 200,000 students annually. Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana. It serves as the state’s engine of workforce development, offering affordable degree programs and training that are aligned with the needs of its community along with courses and programs that transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association.